Skip to main content

Softball Tournament in Ti Tree on Saturday 30th June

Softball teams from all over Central Australia will converge on Ti Tree for the finals for the fourth annual Central Desert Shire Softball Championship on Saturday 30th of June.

The softball tournament brings teams from across the Central Desert Shire to compete for the prestigious Championship Trophy and a chance to play against the Territories’ best in the NT Softball Champions in Darwin.  Twelve teams have been involved in the competition.  Sport and Recreation officers have been working with women from each of the communities to develop skills in playing and managing the sport.  This program was developed as a result of requests by a number of the communities and has received ongoing strong involvement by all community members.  The Council is very happy to encourage and support such community initiatives and over the last 3 years has grown and developed this program in the promotion of healthy lifestyles. 

The winning team shall receive:

  • Recognition on the perpetual trophy, donated by Karl Hampton 
  • A Trophy 
  • Medals for each player (runner up team also receives medals)
  • A brand new softball kit. 
  • A trip to Darwin to compete at the NT Softball Championship. 

Division competitions have already commenced with the Engawala Crows defeating both the Engawala Hawks and a combined Atitjere and Number Five team to secure their place in the finals. The remaining Shire communities will compete over the next two weeks for their place in the finals and the opportunity to travel to and compete in Darwin.

Last years’ winners of the Central Desert Shire Softball Championships, the Engawala Crows, went on to be runners-up in the NT Softball Championships, a great achievement for first time entrants.  

The competition is supported by the Department of Health and Ageing and the Northern Territory Government’s Department Natural Resources, Environment, The Arts and Sport. 

A fundraising BBQ will also be run on the day to support the program.  

All are welcome to attend.