Skip to main content

Local Government service honoured

Long serving Northern Territory councillors have been honoured for their dedication and commitment to their local community.  

Fifty-four councillors from seven councils were acknowledged with long service awards honoring contributions of 10 years or more at the recent Local Government Association NT general meeting including four Councillors from Central Desert Regional Council.  

LGANT President Damien Ryan said participation in local government is a labor of love that takes a special mix of dedication, commitment and community spirit.  "Local Government is rewarding, challenging and frustrating in equal measure," Mr Ryan said.

"Not everybody wants to commit the time and resources it takes to join their local council but the opportunity to serve your community is a very strong motivation for those that do seek elected office."

Research conducted by the Australian Centre of Excellence for Local Government shows 75 per cent of Australians believe local government is best placed to make decisions about their local area, compared with the State/Territory Government (16 per cent) and Federal Government (two per cent)

President Dixon was amongst those recognised.  "As we as councillors are the face of the Council in our community, it takes a lot of hard work to be a councillor.  Our Council is lucky to have so many experienced people and I would like to thank them all for their work and commitment." said Cr Dixon.

Amongst those recognised were Nortbert Patrick, James Glenn, William Japanangka Johnson and Louis Japanangka Schaber.